Church Governance

University Unitarian Church is governed by a Board of Trustees (BOT) elected for three-year terms by the congregation from among its members.

Each year, the Board appoints a President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary, as described in our bylaws. View our current Board Members.

The Board of Trustees holds business meetings on the third Thursday of each month, September through June, at 7 p.m. in the Knatvold room (view building map). Members and friends are welcome to attend. The key to governance at UUC is communication between the Board and the congregation. Please seek out your board members after church services to share your thoughts and questions.

Each year, nominees for election to vacated positions on the Board of Trustees are presented to the congregation by the Leadership Development Committee (LDC). This committee is a group of members elected for two-year terms by the congregation.

The Annual Congregational Meeting, conducted by our elected church Moderator, brings members together at the end of the regular church year, usually the second Sunday in June, to vote on the budget and elect new representatives. The Board of Trustees, ministers, and staff report the accomplishments of the last year. All are welcome to share in the conversation.

The Annual Meeting is an essential contribution of time and attention by our voting members, and a quorum is required. With the participation and involvement of congregants, we can pursue our shared mission and vision.

For copies of past and upcoming Annual Meeting reports, which include approved or proposed budgets and capital plans, as well as copies of the board-approved minutes of past Annual Meetings, see Annual Reports and Minutes or contact the church office. Copies of our church Bylaws and the Board’s governance policies and meeting minutes are also available for your reference.

UUC 2017-18 Board of Trustees

Gayle Childers, President
Debbie Maranville, Vice President  6/2018
Michael Kasprzak, Treasurer  6/2019
Rhonda Peterson, Secretary  6/2020
Deborah Houseworth
Rochelle Coffey  6/2020
Rosemary Daszkiewicz  6/2020

Contact Us

UUC 2017-18 Moderator

Sheila Capestany  (6/2018) (206) 722-6976

UUC 2017-18 Leadership Development Committee

 Meta Theyer, Co-Chair
(6/2018)  (206) 634-2439
Hans Andersson, Co-Chair
(6/2018) (650) 383-8505
David Bauman
Steve Dombrowski
Mike Kippes (6/2018) (425) 881-1014
Doug Graesser
Ella Thompson   (6/2018) (206) 527-4960


Governing Documents

The essential documents governing the congregation of University Unitarian Church are the Articles of Incorporation filed with the State of Washington, the Bylaws, and the Board Governance Policies.

Other relevant documents related to the governing and operation of the church include the annual Monitoring Schedule of Board and Executive activities, the Finance Policies of the Board-appointed Finance Committee, and the Personnel Policies of the Board-appointed Human Resources Committee.

Finally, the current Strategic Plan of the congregation, based on the findings of the Year of Discernment Planning Team’s work in 2011 and 2012, is directed by the following source documents.

Implementation Teams' Visual Reporting for 2013/2014 Year

Implementation Teams’ Visual Reporting for 2013/2014 Year